Promotion target set for Fakenham cricketers

Fakenham Cricket Club is looking for more commitment from its players next year following a season which saw the low of relegation from the East Anglian Premier League and the high of winning the Bob Carter Cup for the first time in the club’s history, writes John Cushion.

The club has also unveiled ambitious plans to expand facilities at its highfield lawn ground – see report on page 55.

Chairman Martin turner told Friday night’s annual meeting: “The (EAPL) table will tell you that we did not get enough points to stay up, but the real reason that we were relegated was the lack of commitment from players for the whole season.

“In an ambitious club, commitment is what breeds success, commitment not just to the club but to team-mates and yourselves.”

Turner said players being unavailable was undoubtedly the reason the first team was relegated and the second team was not promoted in their Norfolk Alliance section, both by small margins.

“Next year will be the year for a double promotion,” he said, laying down the gountlet.

In a revamp, the club will for the first time have a first team manager, Kevin Gray, and coaches for its first and second Saturday teams in Stephen Gray and Keegan de Ridder. Ben Harvey succeeds Sean Cooper as first team skipper.

Most Read

As Cooper was on his way to serve in Afghanistan with the RAF, he was named first team player of the year.

Turner said other successes had been mostly within the youth section. Both under-11s and under-13s reached finals in Norfolk competitions and the under-13s represented the county in a national knock-out competition.

A number of youth teamers had represented their county. “These players will one day be the club’s key players, and their development is key to the future.”

For the first time the club had fielded ladies’ and girls’ under-13 sides.

Officers elected: President, Gordon Turner; chairman, Martin Turner; vice-chairman to be named later following Geoff Saunders standing down to concentrate on his chairmanship of the town’s football club; secretary, K Webb; treasurers, Jack Youngs (club) and Paul Dunger (social club).

Captains: Saturday 1st and Sunday cups, Ben Harvey; Saturday 2nd, Paul Dunger; Saturday 3rd, Chris Crane; Saturday 4th, Keith Bushell; Sunday 1st Keegan de Ridder; Sunday 2nd, Colin Piper; ladies’ team, Emily Woodhouse.

Players of Year: 1st team, Sean Cooper; 2nd team, Brian Whitwood; 3rd team, Yin Lo; 4th team, Thomas Hill; Sunday 1st, Phil Gray; Sunday 2nd, Colin Piper; hat-trick trophy, Danny Galvin.

Clubman of the year was first-team scorer John Alford.